Mid Coast Driving School
2102 Ave D
Bay City, TX 77414
Mid Coast Driving School is certified thru Texas Department of Licencing and Regulation (TDLR).
*** Attention Driver Education Students: The new law -- March 1 - All students under the age of 18 must take the driving course and skill exam. The student fee is $16.00 for a permit.
Extends the current phase One - restrictions for graduated driver licenses are as followed.
***Cost For Classroom Only ***
Classroom Cost - $200.00
A deposit of $100.00 is required to sign up for the class. A payment of $100.00 is due at the time of the DPS permit (Texas DE 964).
Number of Lessons 16 Length of the course 32 hrs. Length of lesson 2 hrs.
Class days are scheduled on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday for most weeks. During the summer, classes meet four days a week; Monday, Tuesday,Wednesday,Thursday and some Fridays each week. Students should plan accordingly with their schedule. Students that miss class or arrive late must make up the time in order to receive the Texas DE 964 completion certificate.
*note - A class must have a minimum of 8 students. If a class does not meet the minimum size requirement, a full refund will be given to those who have pre-registered, or an option to move the student to the upcoming class.
*** Phase Two - Behind The Wheel Training***
The students have two options for completing the in-car driving hours.
In Car Driving- the student can drive with our experienced, certified instructors. This requires an additional fee of $175.00 which will cover in car instructions.
Number of Lessons 7 Length of the course 14 hrs. Length of lesson 2 hrs.
***AFTER CLASS IS COMPLETED AND PARENT HAVE PAID IN FULL THERE WILL BE NO REFUND!!!***
Parents MUST order two separate packets. Packet one is the DPS Parent Taught Drivers Education Packet ($20) from Austin. Packet two is the 44 hour In- Car Driving Curriculum that can be downloaded online with TDLR.
Parent taught students who wish to receive in car instruction only with Mid-coast Driving School cost will be $200.
Driver education application check list:
7. Complete 7 hours behind the wheel driving instruction from MCDS with 7 hours of observation. (7plus7)